top of page

Finding Rest

Today Casey sent me some lovely words. Words that my heart was longing to hear. I've never known him to write, but he has learned that I hear encouragement best in written word. I want to share what he said to me, because I know that I am not the only one who needs to hear.

Come thou long expected Jesus. My favorite Christmas song. There’s something about it. Maybe the nostalgia, the tune, or maybe the picture it paints in my mind of people waiting, longing, NEEDING something… something better than the present.

And even on this side of the first Christmas we still find ourselves in the same situation as the Israelites in this hymn. We all are longing for something. Joy. Healing. Children. Marriage. We all want.

Now, I can’t speak for every circumstance but I have a feeling that even if we are graciously supplied with what we want, something else will slowly creep its way into our lives, where we find ourselves longing and wanting again.

How do we handle this? Is wanting normal? Is wanting a problem? Is there a way to fix it if it is a problem?

Being honest, I find myself here all the time. But, I am thankful that the Holy Spirit convicts and helps. Today, I was helped with the words of this 18th century hymn.

Come, thou long expected Jesus, born to set thy people free; from our fears and sins release us, let us find our rest in thee. Israel's strength and consolation, hope of all the earth thou art; dear desire of every nation, joy of every longing heart.

Born thy people to deliver, born a child and yet a King, born to reign in us forever, now thy gracious kingdom bring. By thine own eternal spirit rule in all our hearts alone; by thine all sufficient merit, raise us to thy glorious throne.

There are two phrases in this song that both convict and comfort me in my times of want.

“Let us find our rest in thee”- Rest in Christ. He came to give us rest. Rest from working our salvation. Rest from worry. Rest from wanting. If you find yourself deeply wanting this Christmas, rest in our God. Think of the extraordinary and strange way our savior came into the world and be comforted that difficult is normal for those who follow him.

“Rule in all our hearts alone”- What rules your heart? Is it your longing? Wanting is not a bad thing, you see people all throughout scripture crying out to God in desperate want. But maybe we should look to the words of this hymn and long for Christ. Let Christ alone rule our hearts desire. Then, and only then do we find comfort as we wait

And, until he comes back to save us fully, may we please him in how we wait. May we long. May we desire. May we rest. May we put Christ where he belongs, first in our hearts. Come thou long expected Jesus. Come.


bottom of page