top of page

hardships

We all suffer.

Different people at different times over different things. But in the end it is all suffering. Some suffer in ways I have yet to even imagine and others suffer quietly over in the corner in which I have yet to look.

The loss of a loved one, financial turmoil, an unfaithful spouse, even an infertile womb.

Each so vastly different and yet so tightly knit. The common cord in all, is the breaking of a heart. Your heart. My heart.

I don’t know if I can put into words all that I have learned over the past two and a half years in walking this path of infertility. The number of tears I have cried, the friends that have been given to me, the unending list of questions that circle in my head, the certainty of an unwavering husband, or the glimpses of the goodness of God.

But there are words that have already been written that tell me all I have learned, “...we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

I love everything about this section of scripture. We are given hope, THE hope of the world and because of that we can rejoice in our suffering.

I’m currently reading a book that Casey gave to me for Christmas, Holding on to Hope, in it the author - Nancy Guthrie (if you haven't done a study by her - YOU HAVE TO!) makes one of those statements that makes you stop. Makes you go back and read it again, and then underline it, and then read it yet again. She says,

“Every difficulty - from the minor irritation of a broken piece of crystal to the piercing pain of a broken relationship - God has allowed every one for the singular and supreme purpose of transforming your character into the likeness of his Son.”

Doesn't that just make you stop. Every single thing in our lives can be used to make us more like Christ. Every single thing. And you know what? I want my character to be made in the likeness of his son. I want to talk, think, act in a way that would be like Christ.

In this season of infertility, I need to reflect on this work that God is orchestrating in my life just a little bit more. Maybe I need to stop questioning quite as much and instead stop and worship Him who is making me more like his son.


bottom of page